I just finished reading The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas, a very interesting book. When I read the author’s preface, Dumas wrote that he would have two elements in this novel, l’action and l’romance. True to his word, he included these elements with a flourish that I enjoyed. Personally, I really enjoy swashbuckling tales but this one was enjoyable but a little unsettling as l’ immorality was also included.

The musketeers themselves were vain, pompous, hardheaded, proud, and immoral but for some reason, the first four adjectives were quite hilarious to me. They were so vain and proud it was funny. And the way they talked, carried themselves, and picked fights was also comical. If they so much as bumped into someone, they would duel with them. All is vanity as Solomon tells us in Ecclesiastes. There were plenty of swordfights, which fed my appetite for fencing.

Why Dumas called it the three musketeers, I don’t know why, except the fact that through most of the book Porthos, Aramis, and Athos were the musketeers and D’Artagnan was their friend, aspiring to be a musketeer. Dumas brought his characters through many hardships. One such hilarious and silly hardship was that the four friends made a bet during the siege of La Rochelle to have breakfast for one hour on an enemy bastion. This they managed to do without any harm. It was quite funny how accomplished the deed with all the pride of a peacock. However, no hardship was so great as the conflict between the musketeers and Lady de Winter, female demon. Never in my life have I ever seen an evil woman in a tale but this one was nothing less than the devil in feminine form. She was so vile, seductive, and murderous, like something you find in horror novels or nightmares. Young and beautiful, she used her charm, dazzling beauty, and sensuality to lure victims to their demise. As Solomon says in Proverbs, the seductress’ door leads to Hell. So blinded by their desire and her beauty, D’Artagnan and so many other men (as you will find out if you read the book) succumbed to her charms. Yet justice always wins and if a person escapes justice on earth, they shall not escape the justice of God Almighty.

I have a confession to make. I’m a sucker for novels and I could not put the book down. I don’t know what it is about them, but novels are so irresistible and fun to read. This one whetted my appetite for some fencing. If I could have one good thing that the musketeers had, it would be skill with a sword.

