Tags

,

This morning (July 11, 2009), I read Jeremiah 7 as I followed Robert Murray M’Cheyne’s reading plan and I thought I might share some of my reflections on this chapter. Overall, this chapter was sorrowful and full of impending judgment from the Our Righteous and Holy God. In the first few verses, Jeremiah is commanded to tell the people of Israel to reform their ways so that may live in Jerusalem. The children of Israel were wicked in the sight of the Lord and he desired them to change from their wicked ways or he would bring judgment. Then Jeremiah proceeds to pronounce the judgment of the Lord upon Israel. As I read that chapter, I felt very sorrowful for the people whom God had chosen to be his own but I also felt that they deserved punishment. Our sin, which we commit everyday, is so abhorred by God that it gives him a righteous hatred toward us. We may question God’s punishment, but we have no place or right to do so. Are we more holy than God to question his holy Judgment on those who are so unholy?  God tells us in his Word that “the wages of sin is death.” But when I look through the corridors of time, at all redemptive history, I see that when God’s people sin, he punishes them for a time and then they run to him for forgiveness and he grants it to them. Ephesians 2: 4-7 tells us that even when we were dead in our trespasses and sins, God “,being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us, even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ— by grace you have been saved— and raised us up with him and seated us with him in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus, so that in the coming ages he might show the immeasurable riches of his grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus.” He also loves his people because of his covenant love for them – “And I said, “O LORD God of heaven, the great and awesome God who keeps covenant and steadfast love with those who love him and keep his commandments.” He cannot violate his own covenant with them or he would cease to be God. Therefore, we can have hope that God will love his chosen people forever. Jeremiah 7 can also be applied to the church in this nation. We are not any different from the people of Israel because we all sin and run after other gods. After I read the chapter, I prayed that God would show our country and the church mercy. We deserve the same wrath and punishment of God. So I entreat those  who are children of God to call out to the Lord to have mercy on us and give grace to turn from our wicked ways for we cannot do it ourselves.

